Strict Standards: Declaration of C_DataMapper_Driver_Base::define() should be compatible with C_Component::define($context = false) in /nfs/c06/h01/mnt/156219/domains/ on line 0

What is the False Claims Act?


The federal False Claims Act (“FCA”) is codified at 31 U.S.C. §§ 3729- 3733, as amended May 2009. The FCA is also referred to as the “Lincoln Law, the “Informer’s Act”, or the qui tam statute. It originally took effect in 1863 and has been amended three times since then in 1943, 1986, and 2009. “Qui tam” is short for the Latin phrase “qui tam pro domino rege quam pro se ipso in hac parte sequitur”, meaning “who brings the action for the king as well as himself”.

Due to the success of qui tam cases in recovering fraudulently obtained taxpayer funds, many states, and even some cities, now have their own false claims acts including the following:

  • California
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Louisiana
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • Oklahoma
  • Rhode Island
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • New York City
  • The City of Chicago


You can be the first one to leave a comment.


Leave a Comment


You must be logged in to post a comment.